Minutes for Waterboro Budget Committee January 25, 2024 at Waterboro Town Hall 4:30 p.m.

Chairman Burrows started the meeting at 4:30 p.m.

Attendance Budget Committee: John Burrows, Debra Burrows, Christina Giordano, and Diane Seehagen. Thomas Lee was absent.

Other Attendees: Matt Bors and Michael Gilpatrick

Matt provided the Budget Committee with the General Government budget sheet. He wants to add \$2500 to line 40 due to a request from the Charter Commission. In one of the past meetings the Charter Commission was added to the carry forwards. After Matt spoke with the Charter Commission, he found that they would like to add \$2500 to their budget for advertising.

Vote: Debra Burrows made a motion to add \$2500 to Department 10-General Government 5900-Charter Commission. Diane Seehagen seconded the motion. The motion passed 4 – 0.

There was some discussion to add a change to the line description on line 42-incidentals to incidentals/merit. This is so the Town can do a merit increase if needed. For instance this year Vanessa received her Assessor's license and they did not have a line to pull from for her merit increase. There was some discussion on the amount to add to this line. They decided on adding \$7500 to the line.

<u>Vote:</u> Debra Burrows made a motion change line 42 –General Government incidentals to incidentals/merit and to include an additional \$7500 to the line. Christina Giordano seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-0.

The total for this line will now be \$10,750.

A. Topics of Discussion & Possible Vote:

(Line numbers are from the individual department budget sheets)

1. Code Enforcement – Town Department #45

CEO Michael Gilpatrick came before the committee to go over his budget.

Matt let the committee know that a 4% COLA was put in for Mike to make his salary more in line with Buxton.

Mike let the committee know that the Plotter is under Code Enforcement now but next year he will probably move this to the Planning Department where it is more suitable. The original goal was to have this item self-funded.

This year Mike is anticipating using most of the funds in dues/subscriptions for updating International codes from 2015 to 2021. This line has not been used a lot. He never knows when he will need it. It depends on Code cycles.

Maps – line 15 is for our GIS product on line. These maps are not terribly accurate. These funds are used to realign the maps to be more accurate.

<u>Vote:</u> Debra Burrows made a motion to approve \$114,129 for Department 45 Code Enforcement. Diane Seehagen seconded the motion. The motion passed 4 - 0.

2. Planning Board - Town Department #60

There was very little change to the budget for Planning Board.

<u>Vote:</u> Diane Seehagen made a motion to approve \$5,150 for Department 60 Planning Board. John Burrows seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-0.

3. Planning Department – Town Department #62

The Planning Department budget has gone down from last year. This is because we are not budgeting for a full-time Planner this year.

<u>Vote:</u> Debra Burrows made a motion to approve \$60,934 for Department 62 Planning Department. Christina Giordano seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-0.

4. Zoning Board of Appeals - Town Department #65

The budget for this committee did not change from last year.

<u>Vote:</u> Christina Giordano made a motion to approve \$2,550 for Department 65 Zoning Board of Appeals. John Burrows seconded the motion. The motion passed 3-0-1 with Debra Burrows abstaining as she is on the ZBA.

5. Assessing - Town Department #40

The budget for this Department did not significantly increase from the last FY.

<u>Vote:</u> Diane Seehagen made a motion to approve \$103,500 for Department 40 Assessing. Debra Burrows seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-0.

6. Accept Minutes of 1-22-24 meeting

<u>Vote:</u> Christina Giordano approved the minutes for the 1-22-24 meeting. John Burrows seconded the minutes. The vote was held off until the next meeting.

There was some discussion on Minutes from January 18th with a typo of a percent. January 22 meeting minutes need corrected typo of name. Minutes will be corrected and re-sent out to the committee.

B. Adjourn

<u>Vote:</u> Diane Seehagen made a motion to adjourn. Debra Burrows seconded the motion. The motion passed 4 - 0. The meeting adjourned at 5:20 p.m.